Louis Roederer Awards

Decanter contributors were lauded for their efforts at the 2009 Louis Roederer International Wine Writers’ Awards in London last night.

Margaret Rand, a previous winner of Roederer’s Champagne Writer of the Year, was named Feature Writer of the Year for her articles in Decanter, and specialist wine photographer Jon Wyand was given the Artistry of Wine Award.

Tom Stevenson, the Decanter World Wine Awards (DWWA) Regional Chair for Champagne, won the Champagne Writer of the Year while Decanter contributor Tim Atkin MW won the Wine Columnist of the Year Award for his pieces in The Observer, Intelligent Life and Off Licence News. Oz Clarke won the International Wine Book for Bordeaux. Christine Austin of The Yorkshire Post won the Regional Wine Writer of the Year.

Canadian wine writer Natalie MacLean won the Online Wine Writer of the Year. Metcalfe told decanter.com he hoped MacLean’s win prompted more writers outside the UK and Europe to enter in future so the awards lived up to their ‘international’ status.



Leave a Reply