Drink.  Learn.  Laugh.  Repeat.

Welcome Back!Sign in here:

Not Registered?Become one of our thirsty clan 314,472 strong:

Register Today!
Stephen Andrews

Stephen Andrews

Coopers Creek Vineyard Pinot Noir 2009

Marlborough, South Island, New Zealand
3875 days ago

Stephen scored this wine: 89/100

Raspberry, strawberry, cherry in harmony medium soft and nice finish. The family liked this wine which was served with roast turkey, mashed potatoes, cranberries and steamed carrots.

Cave De Rasteau

La Domelière Rasteau Cave De Rasteau 2009

A.C., Côtes Du Rhône-Villages, France
1563 days ago

Stephen reviewed this wine:

Tasted March 19th, 2018. Colour dark ruby red starting to show age. Legs thick. Aromas and flavours of plum jam, red licorice, black cherry and mulled spice. Taste dry, fruity, mouthwatering, with lots of gritty tannin and hot pepper on the finish. Drink it up now if you have it. Best with food. Try a sausage pasta, with fire roasted tomatoes, and rotini. I would seek out other wines from this area. The vin deux Rasteau is worth trying.

Prosecco Ruffino Sparkling Wine

Venezia, Veneto, Italy
1638 days ago

Stephen reviewed this wine:

Tasted Dec. 31, 2017. Colour clear like water with a slight straw tint. Fine medium minus bubbles. Thin watery legs. Aromas and flavours of peach, apple, perfume. Taste off dry, creamy and crisp, mouse mouthfeel, mouthwatering, no tannin, lots of acid, tree fruit and a slight nuttiness. Finish quick and to the point. Vintage no date. Source of grapes northern Italy. I use this product for making delicious cocktails. Mint, raspberry and pomegranate, during New Year’s Eve. Good value. Crowd pleaser.

Versado Malbec 2013

Luján De Cuyo, Mendoza, Argentina
1942 days ago

Stephen reviewed this wine:

Tasted the wine on March 5th 2017. Purple colour. On the nose plum jam very pleasing. On the palate more plum dark cherry, soft tannins. Very easy to drink. I think the wine may have reached its peak drink now and enjoy with a beef stew, cheddar cheese, or a piece of chocolate. Limited number of bottles. Looking forward to future vintages. Good value at $20.

Tribaut Schloesser Blanc de C hardonnay Brut

Champagne, Vallée De La Marne, France
1658 days ago

Stephen reviewed this wine:

Tasted Nov. 13th at wine club. Colour pale dull gold, bubbles overpowering. Aromas and flavours of toast, apple, smoke. Taste dry, lively mousse with apple fruit, intense flavour wakes up your palate. Finishes medium. Ok I do not drink champagne often and find it hard to offer an opinion. But I believe there a better examples out there. If you are going to taste good champagne and I mean from Champagne it makes sense to go with a better one because you are probably drinking it for a special occasion. So choose a Cava or Prosecco or a Cremant from Burgundy if you are on a budget. Just my opinion??

Stephen Andrews

Wine Blogger

Memorable Wine

2004 Chateau Angelus St Emilion Grand Cru Classe because it was so seductive and tasty.

more

First Wine

I think it was a home made wine made by our Yugoslavian neighbour when I was a teenager.

more

Unusual Wine Experience

Having the former wine manager of Rothchilds winery pair the wines for a dinner at Cap Maison in St Lucia. It has to be one of the best dining experiences I have had.

more

Current Fav Wine

The one that friends share with me or the one that is in my glass.

more

331,129

WINE
REVIEWS

314,472

ACTIVE
MEMBERS
Winner World's Best Drink Writer
WFour-Time Winner James Beard Foundation
Five-Time Winner Association of Food Journalists
Six-Time Winner Bert Greene Award
Best Wine Literature Book Gourmand World Cookbook Awards
Online Writer of the Year Louis Roederer International Wine Writing Award