Drink.  Learn.  Laugh.  Repeat.

Welcome Back!Sign in here:

Not Registered?Become one of our thirsty clan 272,373 strong:

Register Today!
Carla

Carla

2394 days ago

Carla scored this wine: 94/100

I picked up several bottles of this beautiful port after a spontaneous stop at the winery. We thoroughly enjoyed a tasting with Jerry Kopanski, the owner and just before we left, Andrzej Lipinski, the winemaker, stopped in the shop for a brief visit. The rich, deep berries and smooth, smokey chocolate tones linger with this divine, luscious port. Winemaker's Notes: "The truly robust magnificence of this wine is clearly apparent from its thick, dark-purple hue. Rich with plump raisins, luscious figs and creamy walnuts provides a tantalizing experience for the senses. The palate is a perfect mix of sweetness and delightfully smooth tannins. Bittersweet chocolate completes this wine and takes it to a flavourful finish."

2319 days ago

Carla scored this wine: 94/100

The first thing that drew me in was the colour. It was a deep, almost opaque, plum purple and the rim was a deep, ruby red. The nose was light, but with its gorgeous, intense colour, I knew the bouquet was just teasing me. The mouth feel was smooth and gentle. The taste had a surprisingly deep complexity to it that comes only with using wild berries. Wild blueberries are smaller and punchier than their domesticated relatives, making the skin-to-flesh ratio higher. This richer flavour gives the vintner a juice with an interesting intensity. It beautifully balanced sweetness and dryness, neither one dominating. The lovely sweet blend of black currants, prunes, raisins, dark cherries and a hint of fig integrated nicely with the a low, earthy tones that came through from the skins. While it didn’t linger, the finish was delicate and sweet. There is a prevailing gentleness to this wine. It is truly delightful. I would serve it the same way I would serve a port. It is perfect as a dessert alone and it makes a wonderful port alternative, for those who find the tannins in grape port too harsh. Check out my more detailed review with photos on my blog: http://cookingwithsin.com/2013/07/14/kings-court-estate-winery-wine-tasting/

Burning Kiln Winery Merlot 2013

Lake Erie, Ontario V.Q.A., Canada
1878 days ago

Carla scored this wine: 94/100

It is rare that a wine hits all the right notes on your palate in the most delightful way without becoming heady, and the M-1 Merlot does it wonderfully. Burning Kiln's kiln-drying technique draws out the sweetness of the merlot grape and maintains the full range of tones from the time it touches your tongue through to the finish. The label reads "The History: M-1 or TM-1 was the highest grade of tobacco at auction and referred to the maturity and colour of the 'tips,' the best leaves of the top of the plant. Our story is deeply rooted in the cultural significance of tobacco and grapes and the agriculture of Norfolk County. Our wine-making team, led by Andrej Lipinski, honours that heritage by using grapes dried in tobacco kilns to create our award-winning "appressimento" style wines." "The Wine: This deep, dark, plum-coloured wine has juicy flavours of raspberries, blueberries & plums with a hint of dark chocolate..." I am lucky. Burning Kiln is one of my husband's clients, so I am one of the first to get to taste their M-1. It was spectacular with our home-made charcuterie platter of dried sausages, Quebec cheeses, green & black olives, fresh salsa and some interesting flavoured dark chocolates. I anticipate many more raving reviews and awards for Burning Kiln with the M-1.

2319 days ago

Carla scored this wine: 93/100

The colour of this wine truly reflects its taste. It is a clear, bright yellow with just a touch of green in it and I would describe its flavour as light and crisp with a hint of green herbs. It was a very beautiful and interesting wine with a full, smooth mouth feel. Nicely bouncing on the herbaceous and acidic tones of my palate, it had a dry crispness that came with a sour twist of a bit of rhubarb that was grounded with a gentle green tea and a bit of fresh grass. It finished with a very soft, yet almost salty, taste on my lips. I kept licking and licking them. While I tasted this Sauvignon Blanc on a clean palate, it should pair well with something creamy, like a pasta with alfredo sauce or something a little sweet like pork tenderloin with caramalized onions. Check out the photos for this review on my food blog: http://cookingwithsin.com/2013/07/14/kings-court-estate-winery-wine-tasting/

Guilty Men

Malivoire Wine Company Guilty Men Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2010

V.Q.A., Niagara Peninsula, Ontario, Canada
2481 days ago

Carla scored this wine: 93/100

So yummy! While it really smoothed out once it breathed, I actually preferred how lively it was fresh opened. It has a gorgeous dark plum purple colour with a sweet woody nose. The back label explains the title well. So glad Martin Malivoire had to eat his words so we can drink this wine.

Carla

Food BloggerVisit Carla's Website

Memorable Wine

Napa Valley's V. Sattui Madeira. Had the funnest wine tasting ever there.

more

First Wine

My first taste of wine was in university when I fell in love with the shape of the Black Tower Riesling bottle. The wine was nice too.

more

Unusual Wine Experience

For years I was a white wine person, then about 10 years ago someone offered me a glass of red - no idea what kind. Not wanting to be rude I accepted. One sip and I was converted.

more

Current Fav Wine

King's Court Estate Lemberger - it's a one-of a-kind.

more
Winner World's Best Drink Writer
WFour-Time Winner James Beard Foundation
Five-Time Winner Association of Food Journalists
Six-Time Winner Bert Greene Award
Best Wine Literature Book Gourmand World Cookbook Awards
Online Writer of the Year Louis Roederer International Wine Writing Award