Drink.  Learn.  Laugh.  Repeat.

Welcome Back!Sign in here:

Not Registered?Become one of our thirsty clan 271,273 strong:

Register Today!
Ad

Benjamin Bridge Nova 7 2014 Wine Review

Benjamin Bridge Nova 7 2014

Benjamin Bridge Nova 7 2014

Gaspereau Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

Community Score:94/100

Community Reviews: 8

  Add My Review


Price: $24.95

Drink: 2014-2017

Bottle size: 750 ml

Alcohol: 6.5%

Sweetness: Sweet

Wine Type: Dessert Wine


Winery: Benjamin Bridge

Agent: Lifford Wine & Spirits

Natalie's Score: 93/100

This is such a gorgeous wine! Every time I taste it, it's like coming back to an old friend whose intelligence and wit I admire, but more importantly, just feels so comfortable. Honeysuckle, honey dew and melon yet not cloyingly sweet. This lovely wine is actually refreshing with its slight effervescence. I'm selfishly not wanting to this with anything and just drink it on it's own before or after a meal (or instead of one). But if you insist: berry cobbler or a fruit flan. Happy? I am.

Food pairings: fruit dishes, sushi, Asian salad.

Divine Dessert Wine

This Benjamin Bridge Nova 7 2014 was reviewed on June 11, 2016 by Natalie MacLean

More Vintages: 2017  2016  2015  2013  2011 

  Add New Vintage

Pricing & Stock Information

StoreStock    
TECUMSEH & LAUZON33 Add
SEQUIN & MILLER24 Add
N SERVICE RD & DORVAL (TOWN CTR WEST)23 Add
CORNWALL & TRAFALGAR17 Add
HOWARD & E.C. ROW EXPWY (ROUNDHOUSE CTR)15 Add
See More Edit
  • BCLDB
  • 863902
  • $19.70 
  • Check Stock
StoreStock    
Titulaires de permis - St-Patrick30 Add
Québec - Boul. Laurier6 Add
Varennes6 Add
Cap-Rouge3 Add
Grand-Mère2 Add
See More Edit

Reviews and Ratings

Matt Steeves - Certified Sommelier rated this wine as 95/100 with the following review:

Benjamin Bridge has been making a real fizz in the sparkling wine scene over the past decade. This Nova Scotia (Canada) based winery is producing sparkling wines that rival those from Champagne and other storied wine regions around the world. A combination of ideal terroir for producing crisp & complex cool climate grapes, along with creative winemaking expertise, has resulted in world-class sparkling wines with incredible minerality each and every vintage.

Nova 7 is stylistically similar to Italy's Moscato d'Asti, with its gentle effervescence, floral and orchard fruit aromas and flavours, that's also produced in a off-dry low alcohol style. Unlike many Moscato d'Asti's, Nova 7 is typically crisper, perfectly balanced, and loaded with refreshing minerality making it that much more versatile for food pairings from fresh cut fruit, to spicy Asian dishes, to the richest desserts available.

The 2014 vintage is a beautiful rose gold colour with a nose displaying sweet honey suckle, marigold blossoms, asian pear, sweet ginger, and apple notes. Slightly effervescent, the initial taste profile is of sweet orchard fruit and fresh ginger, all backed with crisp refreshing acidity and a long mineral finish. Perfectly balanced, this off-dry wine is loaded with refreshing minerality making it a great choice for east coast seafood appetizers, sushi, tart berry desserts, or simply to enjoy on its own whether that be on a patio in the summer or throughout the year to make a special toast in the presence of some of your favourite people. Benjamin Bridge wines continue to be some of the most interesting I've tasted vintage after vintage and the 2014 Nova 7 is the finest vintage I've tasted yet! Tasted June 2016. 95 points. Matt Steeves - www.quercusvino.ca | @QuercusVino
Lise Charest Gagne rated this wine as 95/100 with the following review:

If you want to impress your guests this is the wine for you. One word comes to mind when I taste this, UNIQUE, well I lied also DELICIOUS. A blend of 15 aromatic white grapes grown 100% in Nova Scotia on the Bay of Fundy. Lively fizz dances in the glass surrounded by a peachy pink brilliant hue. Aromas of peach, honey, country roses and candied ginger. Flavors or more honey, roses and citrus fruit. It’s a unique bold yet elegant hit of acidity and sweetness WOW! It’s a fusion of racy and happy and exciting on the palate. It reminds me of sweet tarts. I would enjoy it with something spicy but usually end up drinking two bottles in my hottub when I can find it!
Valérie Dufour - Accredited Sommelier rated this wine as 94/100 with the following review:

Friends of mine moved from Nova Scotia and brought this amazing wine for supper. Beautiful oeil de perdrix (light pink) robe with a nose... I could have smelled this wine for a long time. Nice aromas of Melba peach, honeydew melon, rose petals and clementines. The mouth delivers as well with great balance between acidity and fruit and a nice effervescence. I would compare it with a moscato d'Asti for the way it is so easy to drink (but it is not as sweet as a moscato) with a low alcohol level. Very high quality and highly addictive. Pretty versatile. You can serve it with foie gras, with cheese, with a nicotine salad or have it on its own. Coup de coeur.
Frazer Smith rated this wine as 94/100

2 Members would buy this wine again

If you liked the Benjamin Bridge Nova 7 2014, you might also like these wines:

Recipes for Benjamin Bridge Nova 7 2014

Ad

WANT TO LEARN HOW TO

PAIR WINE
& FOOD?

Join me in a free online video class to learn the secrets to perfect pairings.

Wine of the Week

As featured on  

CTV Wine of the Week!

Poliziano Red Wine
Nobile Di Montepulciano 2015,
Tuscany D.O.C.G. ...

Natalie MacLean

Canada's Most Quoted Wine Writer

Natalie MacLean is editor of Canada's largest wine review web site, publishing hundreds of wine reviews every week for more than 271,273 members.

She was named the World's Best Drinks Writer at the World Food Media Awards in Australia.

Natalie has published two books with Random House, the second was named one of Amazon's Best Books of the Year. Get access to all of her reviews today by becoming a member of her site.

FEEL LOST IN THE

LCBO?

Know the wines you want before you even get to the store with my wine reviews. Join now. It's free.

Red, White & Drunk All Over

  Best Books of the Year

Red, White & Drunk all over by Natalie MacLean

Natalie MacLean writes about wine with a sensuous obsession... and often laugh-out-loud funny... Terrific.

Rex Pickett, Sideways

Ms. MacLean is the disarming Everywoman. She loves wine, loves drinking ... ultimately, it's a winning formula.

Eric Asimov, The New York Times

GOT A SMARTPHONE?

Access my reviews on mobile with the bar code scanner.

GET NAT'S APP

Unquenchable: A Tipsy Search

  Best Books of the Year

Unquenchable by Natalie MacLean

Natalie MacLean is a new force in the wine writing world ‐ a fiesty North American answer to Hugh Johnson and Jancis Robinson. She can write beautifully about wine.

The Financial Times of London

There are very few people in the wine world who "get it" and Natalie is one of those who brings more fun to a buttoned-up and stodgy game.

Gary Vaynerchuck, Wine Library TV

Starting a Wine Cellar?

Expert advice for all budgets

Insider tips on starting a wine cellar
From wine racks to underground caves, insider tips on size and space, number of bottles, ideal conditions and reputable resources.   learn more  
Winner World's Best Drink Writer
WFour-Time Winner James Beard Foundation
Five-Time Winner Association of Food Journalists
Six-Time Winner Bert Greene Award
Best Wine Literature Book Gourmand World Cookbook Awards
Online Writer of the Year Louis Roederer International Wine Writing Award